Mercedes Benz Matchplay 2013 Draw Made

08 October 2012Back

Mercedes Benz (Oct 2012)The 2012 Mercedes-Benz Matchplay Championship saw three divisions of players competing over the course of the season for the coveted title. Ultimately the Men's singles title was won by William Welsh, the Ladies singles title by Catherine Shackleton and the Pairs by Edward Daly and Steve Morris. All of the winner's names are now proudly displayed on the honours boards in the clubhouse at Almouj Golf becoming the first in what we are sure will become a long list.

The draw for the 2013 event which will commence in October of 2012 and conclude in May 2013 has now been made. In the pairs event the defending Champions Daly and Morris have drawn a bye in the first round and will have to wait until January to discover who they will face in their first match. The Men's Singles division is shaping up to be a hotly contested title with many of last year's competitors vying for another shot at glory, current title holder Welsh will wait until the New Year to face the winner of the match between last month's medal runner up Iain Watters and the ever consistent Aaron O'Hara. The ladies division will be well contested too with a lesser number of competitors but no lack of competition!