Almouj Golf 3 Club Challenge

11 May 2013Back

In a break from tradition the competitors in the Almouj Golf 3 Club Challenge had to navigate their way around the 18 hole links with far less than their usual 14 clubs. With a mandatory putter the players were able to select an additional 3 clubs which they felt would be best suited to their efforts to accumulate as many Stableford points as possible.

Nasaruddin MohamadTeeing off in the very first group were Nasaruddin Mohamed, Ahmed Kamel Mahmud and Mohamed Fauzi Adnan. Unfortunately the three ball soon became two as Adnan withdrew after 6 holes with an injury, the other two players however continued to amass points aplenty. Ahmed Kamel Mahmud's 34 points was admirable and ultimately saw him finish as runner up in the event thanks to a better back 9 holes of 18 points over John Petersen who's 18 hole tally was the same but only consisted of 16 points on the closing 9. But it was reining Par 3 League Champion Nasaruddin Mohamed who stole the show with a fantastic 37 points, in addition to the obligatory putter Nasaruddin selected a rescue club, a 7 iron and a 9 iron as his three clubs of choice. By his own admission with his club selection it was imperative that he stayed away from the greenside bunkers which he comfortably managed to do for his total of 37 points.

Despite only have a limited number of clubs there were also three two's recorded on the day, each winning 3 sleeves of Titleist golf balls, one of the two's went to the overall winner Nasaruddin, the other pair of birdie two's belonging to Tenzin Tsarong and Chuck Sargent.

The top 12 scores were as follows;

No. Name Front 9 Back 9 Points
1 Nasaruddin Mohamad 16 21 37
2 Ahmad Kamel Mahmud 16 18 34
3 John Petersen 18 16 34
4 Gerard Fleming 20 14 34
5 Johan Keyter 21 13 34
6 Kevin D'Amours 15 18 33
7 William Welsh 16 16 32
8 Aaron O'Hara 15 17 32
9 Keith Harvey 18 13 31
10 Ramly Manja 14 16 30
11 Andrew Basson 19 11 30
12 Chuck Sargent 20 10 30

The next event in the Almouj Golf calendar is the Tournament of Champions on the 25th May where the top net player in the field who has previously won either a best gross, best net or best ladies net will be crowned as the Champion of Champions for 2013.